Page 1 of 1

I might have put in too much CC.

PostPosted: February 1st, 2016, 8:28 pm
by MichelleCYoung
So, for story-telling purposes in Youngdale, I installed a whole slew of CC.

Today, it took more than three hours to load the game! :headache: OK, so I had to reboot the computer after an hour or so, because everything was frozen, but still... I'm up and running now, and I may never exit this game, again.

However, I'm nearly finished playing my next rotation, so yay! Because once this family rotation is done, I get to do my interlude! For which I downloaded all the CC! Woot! I'm excited.

Re: I might have put in too much CC.

PostPosted: February 1st, 2016, 8:35 pm
by Heather
Yep, my game takes almost an hour to load with all the CC I have. I remember the first time I loaded the full collection without any downloads, and my mind was blown by how fast the game loaded. :lol:

Last time I checked I was almost at 16GB. I have a problem.

Re: I might have put in too much CC.

PostPosted: February 9th, 2018, 1:00 pm
by candiedgala
I love collecting cc, but when I saw how fast and smooth the game loads and runs without it I decided to go cc free. It's a battle every time I visit tumblr. "It's just a few files. It's a maxis-match add-on!" I leave the tab open in the browser to "think about it". So far I've been able to not download anything.

Re: I might have put in too much CC.

PostPosted: February 9th, 2018, 1:45 pm
by DSLady
I don't know if any of you have tried this - there's a trick to combine all your package files into singular files instead, which increases loading times and decreases in game lag. Livvielove & Blams told me about it, and I used it after being unable to load CAS bc everything lagged out super hard; but now it's all totally normal again!

THIS is the tutorial I used when I was poking around on my own (I think everyone was offline) and it worked for me! The tip to keeping the package files you combine to less than 200 is probably worth it - I crashed s3pe the first time before I split them up :fisty: I went down from around 1000 pieces to somewhere near 20; so not a HUGE number, but enough to make a difference. I also didn't combine in my mods or replacements in case I ever needed to take them out!

I am not the leading expert on this, I'd definitely point that to Livvie/Blams, but thought I'd share the tip because it was super useful!

Re: I might have put in too much CC.

PostPosted: February 9th, 2018, 6:39 pm
by MichelleCYoung
Ooooh! Does it work with store content?

In my Sims 3 game, I have no CC, but I DO have store content, and the game lags so much that I literally have to paus the game, every time I issue ANY command. I click on the sim, count to 10 or 20, and the command menu finally pops us. Then I get to choose something (maybe), and if I'm patient, it will confirm the command. Or maybe I'll just give up, press ESC, and try again.

I queue up actions a lot. Well, I sort of gave up on Sims 3. I wonder if this will work. I'd sure like to play it again.

Anyway, thanks for the suggestion! If it worked for you, then I'm grateful, even if it doesn't work out for me.

Re: I might have put in too much CC.

PostPosted: February 9th, 2018, 7:03 pm
by somebodysangel
It does work with Store Content, providing you have it in .package form.

I personally use CC Magic for all my CC and Store Content (excluding mods) - I can organise it into folders and use the same cache files for all my different setups (with AnyGameStarter). Loads much quicker, and saves space on duplicating the CC files into each game folder!

I have about 5.5gb of CC/Store, and the game only takes about 10-15 minutes to load.